A to Z: Just Do It!

Today’s post for the A to Z Challenge is “Just Do It”!

That’s what everyone’s been telling me since my post yesterday.

I have so many things running around my brain. I want to ‘just do it’, but I don’t know how. Basically, I’m scared.

How do you all get over your fears? How do you prepare to do something you’re really, really worried about.

Anybody else have some inspiring stories to share?

1 thought on “A to Z: Just Do It!

  1. Okay here goes, Jill. My mum left Italy more than 65 years ago to come and live in Australia, and marry a man she’d dated only briefly back home in Italy. He came out here the year before, got a job, a place to live and waited for her. She arrived when she was 27 on a ship that took weeks to sail here and she didn’t know a word of English. She used to tell me how frightened she was and yet so excited at starting a new life in a new land with a man she loved (but really didn’t know that well).

    Mum tells me it was hard in the early days but she met other Italians and they eventually formed a community. She learnt how to speak English but it took time. She got work, first as a cleaner, and later as a seamstress. Eventually her and my dad moved out of Melbourne to the country where they bought a house and started a family. They both worked hard and well and truly assimilated, she loved her new country and made many friends.

    My mum’s my inspiration, I don’t know that I could be so brave when I think of all she must have gone through. But I guess when you want something badly enough …

    I wish you well in making your decision. One way or another, you’ll make the right one. Warmest wishes to you. xo

    Like

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!