Cool Stuff

I was working in Houston on Monday. We finished up pretty early, so I decided to stop at the Museum of Natural Science on the way home.

I’m a member, so it’s free if I don’t go to the special exhibitions. This time they had one on the Virgin of Guadeloupe. I wasn’t really very interested in that, and by the time I got there it was after 3, so I just wandered around the regular exhibits. There’s plenty to see for free. 🙂

I spent a lot of time this time in the exhibit on ancient Egypt. I always thought all that stuff about mummies was pretty cool, and I really love the old stories about gods, goddesses, etc. They had a lot of that kind of thing on display. Quite a few mummies and they explained all about it. I liked how they set up the exhibit too. When you entered, it really put you in the right frame of mind. 😉

Here’s a photo of a mummy case, inside and out.

 

I spent most of my time in this exhibit this week, but I did take a quick look at the section on the Amazon, the rocks/minerals (the gem vault was still closed), and the shells. Here’s a nice shot of some gypsum.

I loved this thing! It’s called a ‘sandstone concretion’. I just think it’s beautiful, the way it twists and turns, spirals around, shades of gray. I could do a lot with photos of this thing. 🙂

I know I’ve been posting a lot of gloom and doom lately. It’s been hard for me to try and come up with cool stuff to write about when my life has been so screwy lately. I do still find things to keep me going, just not nearly as much as when I’m working. I hope you’ll stick around till things get more interesting. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Cool Stuff

  1. I’m sorry that your life has been screwy lately. It has been a bit weird for me, too, this summer. I hope everything will be okay for you soon.

    The sandstone concretion is beautiful. The first thing that I thought of when I saw it was a pile of little Shar-Pei puppies. 🙂

    Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Suzanne.
        Sorry to say it was just a temp job. I went as deckhand to deliver the boat from Louisiana to Colombia. It was only supposed to be a week or so. I’m glad it took longer, I really needed the extra days pay.
        I was hoping they might come up with something else for me. Maybe next week?
        Hope you have a great weekend!

        Like

      • Have you ever thought about selling photos that you take along the way on these trips? There are a lot of stock photo companies out there. Some charge for listing, but others don’t. That might be another way to generate income for you. Just a thought. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the great suggestions Suzanne. Yes, it’s a good idea and I’ve already been working on that project for a while.
        I have uploaded a few photos onto a site called Society6, where they’ll also put them on t-shirts, clocks, phone cases, shower curtains, etc.
        As for stock, I have some on Bigstock, Dreamtime and a couple of others so far. It’s not easy to sell photos that way, it’s hard to get the photos accepted by the agencies and then someone has to actually buy them (even if they are super cheap!). It’s a numbers game, really. I probably only have about 100 uploaded, total, so far. I need to get that up to about 1000 and then will probably start seeing some results. It’s usually so hard to find the time to work on that, it takes a lot of time to upload the photos. They have to be PERFECT or they won’t get accepted. That means they all need editing. That takes me a long time to do.
        I was SO upset that while I was sitting at home for months, I could not make any progress with that project due to continuous computer problems. I’m hoping to be able to upload some more in the next week or so. I know people who are making $100’s per month. That would help a lot!
        Are you doing it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome. Oh how frustrating about the computer problems! We’ve been having a frustrating week here, too. The thunderstorms have been keeping us offline quite a bit. We unplug everything when they hit. The surge protector is no guarantee, in my opinion. Is your computer playing nice consistently now? I hope so!

        Yes, I have accounts at a few of the stock companies like Dreamtime and FOAP and something with Dollar in the title that I can’t remember at the moment. I haven’t added anything to any of them in ages. Since my husband’s strokes, I haven’t been able to really go out and photograph anything that would be worth posting to those sites, plus the heat has been dangerous here this summer. I think that I’ve sold two between all of them. Not big bucks yet, that’s for sure.

        It would be wonderful to be able to make hundreds a month doing something like that. I hope that it will work out for you very soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the comments Suzanne.
    Sorry about your husband. I hope you’re doing OK with that. Tough, for sure.
    You’re right about the surge protection, they’re not really going to help much if you get hit. I was unplugging everything when I left for work (offshore), but forgot about it lately. I got (another) new computer, and it’s working ‘better’, but still not good. I have to leave the house to get any of them to work RIGHT. Not one of them will do everything I need it to! It’s frustrating to say the least!
    Takes me 10x longer than it should for me to do what I need to and so I don’t have much time for what I’d like to (upload photos, edit photos, etc). Of course, it would be nice to get out of the house sometimes too. 😉

    Like

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

