The Daily Post: Beach

I haven’t posted the last couple of days. I needed a break after finishing up the A to Z Challenge. I’m not used to posting every day and it was exhausting. It was fun and a great way to meet other bloggers, but I’m glad it’s over.

Today I’m back with a post for the Daily Post. The first one in a while I feel like I can respond to. I don’t really like what they’ve been doing lately with their ‘one word’ challenges. But I do know a lot about the beach. 😉

I’m from Florida. I spent a lot of time on the beach where I grew up, around Madeira Beach. It used to be so nice, quiet and peaceful. It was very relaxed and we were able to enjoy it pretty much every day.

I was never into sun bathing. As a redhead, I get sun burned easily, so I try to avoid just roasting myself. I liked to go swimming and snorkeling, shell hunting, observing the plants and animals, and just walking along the water. Friends would start up a game of frisbee, touch football, or volleyball. Sometimes we would have a BBQ with a bonfire.

I remember going out to Egmont Key, just outside Tampa Bay. We would head out in the Island Girl and raft up with a bunch of other sailors. We would spend the weekend out there, playing with our friends (all ages- from babies to oldsters). We had some really great times.

When I moved to Texas, I used to spend a lot of time on the beach at Surfside and Bryan Beach. My class would go down there to practice taking sights for our celestial navigation. We would go camp out for the weekends, have a bonfire where we’d cook out, sing songs, tell sea stories and play music.

I still like to go to Surfside. I love to go in the Winter when it’s quiet. I like to sit and watch the water, listen to the wind and the waves, watch the birds, look for shells, and just enjoy the peace away from everybody.

I travel a lot and there’s usually a beach involved at some point there too. In Thailand, it’s Phuket. In Indonesia (Bali), it’s Kuta. In Mexico, it’s Cancun, but I have to say Puerto Vallarta is hard to beat. 😉

Do you have a favorite beach? Which one? Why?

15 thoughts on “The Daily Post: Beach

  1. My dad and stepmom have a place in Madeira, a condo two buildings from John’s Pass. When I was a kid, we used spend a bunch of time in Pass A Grille and eventually down at Siesta Key. My wife and I got married on Casey Key. My wifes dad and stepmom live in Apalachicola and we soend quite a bit of time on St George and Dog Islands. ive been to nearly every beach and/or island from Virginia to Texas. But my favorite beach? Easy. Ocracoke, without question. The village is fantastic but the beach? Undeveloped, isolated, not easy to get to=no fucking people. Just the way I like it! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! Small world.
      I grew up in Johns Pass before there were any condos. I petitioned to have them prohibited. Actually got city council to change the law! But of course, they got bought out and by the time I got back from school (on the ship) they had 20+ high rise buildings going up! Learned my lesson on corrupt political system then and there!
      We used to go out to Port of Call? Can’t remember the name for sure. We used to go to Ft De Soto park. We used to go to Pass a Grille too.
      My dad brought the boat down to the keys and I stayed with him there on Stock Island and Marathon.
      I love to be able to get away to the nice, quiet, natural places.
      I’ve never been to Ocracoke. Sounds nice.
      I really liked some of those beaches down in Mexico. The quiet ones were hard to get to, one I wasn’t sure I was going to make the hike.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean about Madeira and Johns Pass. I’m 47, and when I was a kid, none of the high rises were there. All the way down to Pass A Grille, Treasure Island, Clearwater, and Tarpon Springs were all just little one story mom and pops. So different now. Ghats why we love Ocracoke so much, it’s still all natural seashore. It’s protected as part of Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Nothing at all built on the beach there. Not a house, condo, or otherwise. We’ve snuff fished nearly naked there in July before!

        Like

  2. Kuta was paradise in 1973, but by the mid-nineties, too crowded. We loved the far north..practically deserted and best snorkeling ever. Afraid to return now.. I’m afraid it may have changed too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My first time to Bali (Kuta) was probably around 2008. It was pretty wild. I do still enjoy the parties, just not as much as I used to. I have to stop a lot sooner now. 😉
      I’ve always loved going off by myself to get away from everything and everybody. I think there are still places on Bali for that. My last time there was about 3 yrs ago. I didn’t get up there where you’re talking about, but Sanur was still very nice. Candidasi was great too, and a place on the West coast N of the big sea temple (can’t remember the name) was really fantastic, we went horseback riding there, but there were miles and miles of beautiful beaches with nothing around.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear there are still magical places, Jill. We stayed for two months in Ubud and enjoyed it there…One night in Kuta the night we arrived and then rented a little car and headed north. Driving was some experience, however. Had an accident the first week when a bus in front of us stopped dead in the highway with no prior warning..No light or intersection. Just stopped. Our brand new little suv…not perfect anymore.

        Like

  3. Would you recommend the A-Z challenge. I’m not sure I want to take that commitment on. Did you find it connected you to a lot of good bloggers? Did you gain a lot of followers?

    Like

    • I can give you my thoughts on it.
      I did enjoy it, but it was a lot of work. I don’t normally post every day except when I’m doing some sort of challenge.
      During that time, I was (still am) having HUGE problems with my computer, that made it extremely frustrating and I wasn’t able to spend as much time visiting other blogs as I would have liked.
      I did connect with a couple of bloggers who are still sticking around. I did not gain many followers, not nearly as many as I had hoped. I had much better results with the Blogging 101 course. Have you done that one? I found that one to be much more helpful, I learned more about how to do things on my blog for 1 thing.
      Hope that helps

      Liked by 1 person

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

