A to Z: Water

Today’s post for the A to Z challenge is: water.

It seems an appropriate subject. I’ve spent almost my entire life in, on and around the water.

Of course I understand (in a back of the mind sort of way) how vitally important water is in so many ways. All life on earth (and maybe space too) depends on water. Without it nothing living can survive for long. But I don’t think of it that way most of the time.

I usually think of it as a necessary ingredient for me to work (and sometimes play). As a merchant marine, I spend my life at sea. I started out working on local fishing boats when I was very young, moved up to the party boats, back to commercial fishing. I moved to Texas to go to school and earn my AB and QMED certificates from the USCG since it was so hard for women to find work offshore back then.

Since then, I’ve worked my way up over the years on crew boats, production boats, standby boats, supply boats, tankers, trawlers, ROV support vessels, dive boats, construction boats, pipe layers, semi submersibles and drillships. Whew!

Thats a lot of years at sea! I only count the 39 years since starting as a cadet in 1977. I still love it and can’t wait for a chance to get back out there. 🙂

How do you think of water? Do you work on/with it? Play on/with it?

13 thoughts on “A to Z: Water

    • thanks, I did change it on my new blog, everyone was supposed to be automatically redirected to it, instead of still coming to the one with the black background. I don’t know why it’s not working, I’ve tried and tried to figure it out and move people to my new blog. I can never get it to work, so I’m stuck with running both blogs.
      Check out the new one at http://www.captainjillsjourneys.com
      Let me know if you like it better. Everything else is pretty much the same, but I am still trying to fix a few things on the new one, like calendar, ports, etc on other pages.

      Like

      • sorry to be so bad about responding, my computers and internet situation here have been driving me nuts lately!
        I must have missed you on Facebook, do you use the same name there? I don’t remember any comments on there.
        I can definitely use the help. 🙂

        Like

    • thanks for letting me know. Personally, I really prefer this background, on my new blog I have a white background, with a world chart behind it. It looks very busy and kind of distracting to me, but it was the best picture I could find for what I was trying to do. I’ve never gotten around to trying to find a better one yet.

      Like

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

