Blogging Problems

I just wrote a post on my new (self hosted) blog about the issues I’ve been having there. I’ll post it here too. I really need some help figuring this out. If anybody can help, or point me in the right direction I’d really appreciate it. Here’s that post from http://www.captainjillsjourneys.com

I learned something today.

About my blog.

My blog has been screwed up since I moved it to this paid (or self hosted) website- Captainjillsjourneys.com. I really had no problems while I was blogging on the free wordpress site- captjillsjourneys.wordpress.com. The only issue there was that I couldn’t find any way to ‘monetize’ it.

I’m still trying to figure out how to do that, but since I’ve moved I’ve had to pretty much start over from scratch and have been slowly (VERY slowly) building up an audience here again.

For a while I thought I had lost ALL my online friends and followers, but after about 3 months I found some of them were still hanging around on my old site. Thanks for sticking it out guys!!

Today, I was talking to a friend (he’s one of my first followers) on the phone and asked him to see if he could subscribe to the new site (this one). NO, he could not! He tried a few times and could get nowhere. He tried ‘liking’ a post and could not do that either. He had no trouble commenting.

Since talking to him, I’ve gone through and re-checked all my settings on my dashboard. I don’t see anything that should prevent anyone from liking or following me here. I’ve got the same settings here as on the old blog which still has no problems.

I next went to my Mailchimp account which is one of the big reasons to move- so I own my mailing list instead of wordpress- and found out I only have 5 subscribers. WTF? Even on my dashboard here it shows me that I have about 600.

I thought before today that there was something screwy with the widget that has the ‘form’ where you can enter your email to follow me. Now I KNOW that there is something messed up between that widget and the Mailchimp email list.

I wish there was someone here local so we could just sit down together and go over all this. I’m sure if I could meet up with some computer geek, I could have this problem fixed without too much trouble.

Does anybody out there have any suggestions for me based on what I’ve just described? Or know anybody around Freeport TX that can help?

6 thoughts on “Blogging Problems

  1. I couldn’t figure out how to have posts from your new site go into my reader. Since I am looking at starting a self-hosted site I am interested in your issues and will try an learn some more about this and will let you know if I can figure anything out.
    There is always the “computers are haunted by evil spirits” theory to fall back on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, I’ve definitely got a bad guy in my computer. I brought it to the shop yesterday and on a different one now. Let’s see how it goes. 😉
      I don’t think the new one goes to the reader at all, that’s a major problem as far as I’m concerned. I think that might be a thing with WordPress where they don’t let you in the reader unless you pay them to do WordPress.org? But I’m not sure of that at all.
      I see Jason at OpinionatedMan just switched, he doesn’t seem to be having any problems. But he knows a lot more about this stuff than I ever will. You might want to go check him out if you haven’t already. He gives a lot of good info on his blog.

      Like

      • Well the reason for this is that, when you change from the subdomain to custom domain, lot of things change. search engine also takes some time in redirecting all the older links to the newer.
        It is same like you change the address, but none of your friends know about your new address. There are some tips on internet, that if you apply will help you a lot.

        Like

      • thanks, I changed it back in August. Actually I didn’t change it myself, I hired a guy to do it for me. Supposed to be an expert. I’ve been having trouble ever since. I don’t seem to have any trouble with the links, old posts, etc moving over. It’s only been a problem with viewers/subscribers/likes. I still think it’s some issue with the like/follow buttons not working correctly for some reason. I just don’t know enough about it to troubleshoot

        Like

  2. Perhaps it is exactly what you did, but this article: http://www.wpbeginner.com/wp-tutorials/how-to-properly-move-your-blog-from-wordpress-com-to-wordpress-org/ talks about moving subsrcibers from WordPress.com to WordPress.org.

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/reader/ mentions that one can follow non-wordpress.com blogs that have an RSS feed inside the reader. WordPress (.com or .org) should syndicate your blog posts automatically, according to material from a class I took last year.

    I have limited experience, but I have had issues with the host of the church website I manage not being compatible with some wordpress features. Once the problem was with the .htaccess file. I think it was “out of sync” but it may have been corrupted. This file is crucial for redirection.

    If I were trying to troubleshoot your site I would start by calling the host. If it is like the one the church uses they didn’t know which way is up, but they did have an on-line forum and I was able to figure out
    a) that my problem was not unique and
    b) I picked up terminology so that I could search intelligently, found what needed to be done on a wordpress forum, then called the host back with a specific instruction.

    A host more in tune with wordpress can likely get you fixed up without item b.

    If you have the ability you might check to see whether people with non-wordpress feed readers (e.g., Newzcrawler, Feed Demon, Feedly) are having the same problem. That would allow you to determine if the problem is with the site’s syndication in general or with the Worpress.com reader specifically.

    Like

    • thank you Kate for that detailed comment, I didn’t actually move it myself. I hired a guy to do it for me so I don’t know the details of what he did. I don’t think it’s with wordpress.com any more. It’s hosted on hostgator.com, the mail (subscriber list) is through mail chimp, the blog is still on wordpress (.org I ASSUME). I have tried to contact the host already (hostgator) and they assure me “no problems’ on their end.
      I really have no idea what I’m doing here, so it’s all very confusing to me. I don’t have a lot of patience either so not the best combination.
      I will try your suggestions.
      Thanks again!

      Like

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

