Motivation

Hmmm. How to get motivated when you’re not?

I just realized it’s been a few days since I posted here. It seems like the days flew by. Not that I’ve been all that busy. I haven’t been. In fact, I’ve been dragging around like a lump on a log trying to get motivated to do something.

Anything!

I was supposed to go to work last Friday. I didn’t. I finally got ahold of the guy I’ve been talking to about work yesterday and he told me that now he has ‘no idea’ when this job might really start. 😦

Since then I’ve been trying to figure out how in the hell I’m going to be able to make my finances last. I’ve been blasting through my savings and I can’t even figure out where the money is going!

Anybody have any suggestions?

13 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. Try to live minimally. Only buy what you really need: food. Save your funds for household expenses: rent, heating, water & sewage, electricity, etc. Set a budget, save your receipts and constantly update your budget. That’s the best advice I can give ya since I don’t really know all of your circumstances. Good luck!

    Like

    • Thanks Lori, I appreciate the help. I’ve got to set the budget!
      I looked over all my payments from the last couple of months and looks like almost all are bills! Other than the expenses for the trip to Mexico for the TEFL course last month, I didn’t spend much on anything else.
      I won’t have that expense again, so next month should be much better on expenses. (I hope).
      I’ll be fine for a while, it’s just that I have no idea when I’ll be able to go back to work. If I have to make my savings last for another year or 2, I’ll be in trouble. I HOPE I can find some real work before that!!
      I’m trying to sell stuff now and cut down on expenses. I have a beach house that brings me in a good income, but if I lose the tenant for a month or 2 now, I’ll be screwed. The taxes and insurance there will eat me up! So, I’m going to have to put it up for sale. I hate to do it, but I really can’t afford it if I’m not working. Selling it will help my state of mind and I won’t worry so much if I get a decent price for it.
      I’m also looking for a room-mate. That would help a lot. The only reason I haven’t been looking already is because I don’t like the idea of finding someone through advertising that I don’t know well and then leaving them alone in my house for a couple of months (or more). I’d be fine with that if it was someone I knew and could trust, but a pretty much complete stranger? Not quire ready for that yet.
      If it comes down to it, I plan to pack up all my stuff and move to Mexico. I can rent out my house for enough for me to live on. I can rent it furnished so I don’t have to move all that big stuff (and I don’t really care too much if they trash my furniture).
      I’ve already been (very) slowly getting rid of stuff since I’ve been wanting to move out of here for a long time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow you have a lot on your plate hun. Sell the beach house, rent your house and go to Mexico… that sounds like the best solution. Wish I could help more. But I am here if you need to talk things out… you can email me any time at ravynehawke@gmail.com I am a good listener and suss things our well πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Lori, I met with my manager over lunch today and discussed what still needed to be done with the beach house. Hopefully, I will be able to get that work done soon and put the house up for sale. She was very encouraging.
        As for renting my house, that is a whole ‘nother enchilada! First I have to sort through all my JUNK and pack it up.
        I’ve been working on that, but it is going soooooo slowly.
        I appreciate your offer to help think things through, thanks. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • You have a plan and you’re working it. Good for you! Maybe you can get a job of some sort to help with expenses until work in your field opens up again. Maybe a waitress job or fast food place. Is it possible you could do some of the needed improvements on your beach house yourself? That could save you some money if it’s not too far from where you’re staying. Or could you just move there while it’s up for sale and leave the rental? Have you checked with employment security office for other job opportunities in a different field? Maybe you could be a substitute teacher for a while. I hope at least one of these thoughts is helpful.

        Like

  2. List your priorities, then see how much you have left.
    Ask yourself three questions when you shop:
    Do I want it? Do I need it? Will my life end if I don’t have it.
    You’ll be surprised how much you can leave behind.
    Food shopping: look at the number of meals you can get for your money rather than weights. Reduce your quantities by 50% and eat off a smaller plate, that way you won’t feel you’re eating less.
    Good luck (been there, done that, ate the tee shirt!) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • How was the t-shirt? lol
      Thanks for the suggestions, I’m doing pretty good with the food situation. I have lots of it stored around here from before things fell apart offshore. It’s probably a good thing I’m having to start eating it. πŸ˜‰
      I’m actually pretty good about shopping. I don’t go often. My money pretty much all goes to bills. There are a couple I can eliminate like cable TV and land line, but I’m hoping to find a room mate. No TV will make that hard to do! I do get bored sometimes and watch a few shows too. I keep the land line for hurricane season, it still works even when all the cell phones are down.
      I’m thinking I need to raise the rents, those bills have gone up quite a bit since I last raised the rent (gas, water, electric, insurance, etc). Water bill started at about $35/mo. Lately they’ve been around $110! Still the same rent. Same kinds of increases with all the other bills. I hate to raise the rents when I know people are already having such a hard time paying, but I think I’m going to have to.
      So, I’m not totally broke, I do have some income, it’s just a lot less than I’m used to and I still have the bills from before. I have to make some kind of adjustments.

      Like

  3. Of course, from a spiritual perspective, all things in God’s time. Patience is on your side for the next door to open has a better reward. Being prudent has immediate downsides when we’re impatient but most often, well worth the wait. Seek your answers in prayer and meditation being still and listening. Also, I find the quiet time very relaxing when I let go of my worries and concentrate on specific necessities. My prayers are for an ease in your spirit and success and prosperity to come to you soon, as God’s will. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

