Bee

Here’s my entry for Jennifer’s One Word Photo Challenge. Today’s prompt is: bee.

There are plenty of bees out on my trees all day now, the lemon trees are blooming all over. They smell so good. The little (orange) limes are just about ready to pop open their buds too. I love this time of year in Texas. Everything’s in bloom. 🙂

Pacific Blue

Here’s another one for Jennifer’s Color Your World challenge. Today’s color is: pacific blue.

OK, it’s a little different. I took this when I was working onboard the Pacific Santa Ana drillship a couple of years ago (boy do I miss those days of being able to work now).

In honor of the challenge, the sign is blue and it says “Pacific”, so it qualifies as Pacific Blue, right? 😉

Pacific Blue- Hanbada

Here’s a post for Jennifer’s Color Your World challenge. Today’s color is: pacific blue. 

This was a really hard color for me to find. I was surprised I didn’t have more pacific blue pictures. It’s actually just about a perfect match for some of the old Detroit Diesel engines. Here’s a picture of one (from google).

I ought to have more photos of engines, but since I quit working in the engine room and decided to stay on deck, I just don’t get down there too much any more.

Here’s a photo I took onboard the Korea Maritime Academy training ship “Hanbada” in Busan. It shows part of the engine room and looks like a pretty good match for Pacific Blue. 🙂

I met a nice lady online in a Facebook group when I was headed to Korea for a travel writing workshop. She is a ships officer like me. She was nice enough to show me around her ship and introduce me to some of the cadets that were studying there.

I had a great time there and was really grateful that she was willing to spend so much time with me. It made my trip to Korea just that much better. 🙂

Motivation

Hmmm. How to get motivated when you’re not?

I just realized it’s been a few days since I posted here. It seems like the days flew by. Not that I’ve been all that busy. I haven’t been. In fact, I’ve been dragging around like a lump on a log trying to get motivated to do something.

Anything!

I was supposed to go to work last Friday. I didn’t. I finally got ahold of the guy I’ve been talking to about work yesterday and he told me that now he has ‘no idea’ when this job might really start. 😦

Since then I’ve been trying to figure out how in the hell I’m going to be able to make my finances last. I’ve been blasting through my savings and I can’t even figure out where the money is going!

Anybody have any suggestions?