500

Hey, I’m climbing up the ladder again, seems much slower this time, but I’m happy people are still liking me once they manage to find me. 🙂
This showed up today. 🙂
500 Likes
Congratulations on getting 500 total likes on Captain Jills Journeys.
Your current tally is 502.
WordPress is counting my new blog, I am trying to move over there. I’m sure I have more likes on here than 500, but I lost all my stats when I moved to self-hosting. I can’t do what I need to on this one. I’d appreciate it if you like this blog to sign up on the new one. It’s www.captainjillsjourneys.com
13 thoughts on “500

      • I once learned on a “dériveur” (small, one or two people, foc and grand-voile? Jib and main-sail?) that with no wind at all, if you stand up, the boat advances a bit? Well then, stand up! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am here in Mexico this month trying to learn a new skill (TEFL). I have not had even one tiny nibble on a job since September. I need to find some way to earn at least a little bit of income. I know that teaching will not pay my bills, but at least it will get me out of the states. If I can rent out my house, I can survive by living in Mexico or somewhere else with a low cost of living. As soon as I can find work back on some sort of boat, I will be back to sea!
        I really don’t know what else I can try. If you have any more suggestions, I’m listening.

        Liked by 1 person

      • yes, I think work permits are hard everywhere. No country wants foreigners coming in to take jobs away from their own people (and I don’t blame them).
        That is why I finally decided to go ahead and take the TEFL course. Teaching is just about the ONLY way to get work permits in most countries.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Do you speak spanish? There are rich people owning boats who maybe could use a skipper, or sail their boat from one location to the other, e.g. Puerto to Ixtapa and back? There must be ads on Internet?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I only speak very basic Spanish, tho I’ve been trying to learn more.
        I have been thinking about your suggestion and actually, that is one of the main reasons I chose to come to school here in Puerto Vallarta (because of the yachts here).
        I haven’t had a chance yet to get to the marina. I was thinking this weekend, but we’re all going together to Sayulita and Nahui. Maybe next weekend I can go. I think next week I will be tied up in classes most days.
        I had already been checking on the crewing websites (crewseekers, crewbay, etc) for months, but not finding anything suitable. Now, I’m thinking I need to just go home, clear out my house so I can rent it out and then just take off til I have to come back home to renew my USCG license and DP certificate. No point in stressing out about work and wasting time looking for it if there just ISN’T any.
        I might have a gig in March, so I will go home for the month and then come back down here to teach for a couple of months IF there is still nothing at the end of March. They would like us to sign on for year long contracts to teach, but I don’t want to tie myself down for that long, especially not for my very 1st position.

        Liked by 1 person

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

