Just Jot It January: Collection

Today’s prompt for the Just Jot It January challenge is: collection.

I don’t really have anything I would consider a collection anymore. I used to be quite avid about my collections when I was a kid. I had a coin collection, a shell collection, a stamp collection, a rock collection. That all stopped when my stepfather threw all my stuff away while I was away at school.

Now, I have a half-assed collection of dragons, and a really small collection of mermaids. I don’t really spend much effort searching out items to fill my collections any more, but if I happen to see something that fits, I’ll pick it up.

I guess my library could be called a collection of books, tho I never had any specific purpose while gathering them together.

I have tons of books around here. Lots of different subjects: sci-fi, fantasy, horror, travel, sea stories, books about boats, how-to books, mysteries, political, history, historical novels, philosophy, art, music, medicine, paranormal romance. Pretty much anything and everything can interest me enough to buy a book and read it. Β I really have too many books, I’ve already read almost all of them.

I’ve been trying to downsize. I’d like to move somewhere more affordable and less stressful. I don’t really want to pack up dozens of boxes of books again to fill a storage unit. So, I’ve been trying to whittle down my collection of books. That has been going very, very sloooowly.

Mostly because I want to re-read the books I still have left. They’re all the good ones I kept the last time I moved, plus the really good ones I’ve read since. I read a LOT, and I’ve been here a long time. So I still have a lot of books to sort through.

This time at home lately has been good for that. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Just Jot It January: Collection

  1. I’m exactly the same! I have been gathering books since I was 4 (19 now) and I only recently started to donate some of my childhood books. (But only the ones that I did not like that much anyway.) While I do have a e-reader, it never really replaces the feeling of real paper in your hands or looking at a (overly) filled bookcase.

    ~ Sofie

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to move around a lot, so had to disperse my collections of books fairly often up til now.
      I’ve been in this house since 1991. I only had about 10 boxes of books when I moved in. I already have 2-3 times that packed up (after getting rid of 5 times that number!). I still have 10 full bookshelves and on top of that, I still order new ones every couple of months! It’s crazy! I should just go to the library, and I do, but they just don’t have a lot of the kinds of things I’m really interested in.
      I totally agree about the e-reader, but they’re sure nice for traveling. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, that is a lot of books. I used to go to the library but as a fan of series I never had the patience to wait till the new books were in the library. I did recently found out that my library has a e-book program. Now I can borrow books from the library from home. I try to only buy the books now that are visually interesting or that I just really really want.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean about the series. I had to break myself from reading those til all of them were out and in the library, then I would read them all together.
        I try not to buy real books anymore, but sometimes I can’t help myself. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think I will always keep buying them. It it one of the biggest joys I know. But I do try to only start series that are all out as well. I got tired of waiting for 10 books at a time to come out haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Any comment? questions? suggestions? Speak up!

